Posted in Beauty

Too Faced – Matte Eye Palette

Earlier this year my lovely Grandma gave me a boots voucher, and I finally spent it last week – treating myself to some premium makeup. I chose Too-Faced because of their good reviews in magazines, and the beautiful packaging.

After perusing their palettes online here: http://www.boots.com/en/Too-Faced/Sets/ I decided to try the ‘Matte eye’ one as I’ve always worn shiny or glittery eyeshadows and wanted something softer for the day. Also I wear glasses all day and often find glitter gets stuck on the lenses, which surprisingly doesn’t look as glamorous as it sounds!

The set consists of nine eyeshadows, split into three collections for three different looks.

“The modern way to wear matte is to keep it soft, sophisticated and a little sexy.
My Matte Eye Kit combines the best of both warm and cool tones in easy to wear, sueded neutrals.

It will have you looking polished and pretty in flash, without the flash!

toofaced1

As well as the palette, the box contains three how-to cards, providing easy lessons on how to apply the shadows with diagrams to help create the perfect smokey eye. I followed these instructions exactly for my look, and it took seconds to create a lovely subtle smokey eye. The shadows have a lot of pigment in them, so it would be easy to build up the colours for a more dramatic look.

They have great staying power too, lasting over eight hours despite a night out and a bit of wine…

This is me wearing the ‘Classic look’ (middle row) with ‘Collagen Mascara’ from Accessorize.

DSCN1242 copy

Without my gift voucher I may have been put off by the £29 price tag, but it works out at £3.22(ish) per eyeshadow, which I think is amazing value for such good quality colours!

My only criticism of the whole set would be that it didn’t come with any brushes, just one mini brush would have been lovely, especially as most of mine are covered in glitter and shimmer from the rest of my eyeshadow collection! However there was a free sample of their anti-crease shadow primer ‘Shadow Insurance’ tucked inside the box.

I’m so so happy with this purchase, definitely one to recommend for anyone who wants a break from shimmery eyes!

Author:

Digital Copywriter. Background in visual communications, brand management, visual merchandising and retail management.

What do you think?

