Posted in Fashion

Perfect party dresses for under fifty pounds (Almost!)

The first term of college is finally over, and my uni interview has passed (I was offered a place, yey!) so I can finally start getting ready for Christmas, New Years Eve, my brothers 30th birthday and all the wonderful parties celebrating these occasions!

After spending the day hunting for dresses I decided to share a few of my finds with you …except the ones that I actually ordered, as they are a surprise! – I promise to share these in the new year, after their grand unveiling 😉


Most of my choices are sale items, I have tried to only include ones with a wide range of sizes available but if you see something you like then click its link and snap it up quick!

My Party Picks:

£10 and under

I found this price point very tricky, the sales haven’t started everywhere yet and so most of the cheaper dresses are left over summer stock, more suitable for the beach then for glamorous parties! However there are a few pieces to be found, this is what I chose…

ten2

Coral Textured Peplum Dress £9.99 Available from Quiz
Quite a summery colour, but I think with gold jewellery and dramatic gold/black eye makeup it would easily work for both seasons

Peach Lace Gold Lined Dress £10 Available from Apricot
I know that this wouldn’t be everyones choice but I love it! This dress is so versatile, team with pale heels for a fairytale look or go all out grunge with doc’s and statement necklaces

Red wrap fit and flare £10 Available from Dorothy Perkins
Red just screams christmas to me and this flattering style is perfect for dressing up or dressing down. I imagine it adorned with faux fur and knee high boots (Channelling your inner Mariah Carey)

Under £20

There are so many amazing dresses out there in this price bracket, it was really hard to choose! However, as I’ve just shown you some quite bright colours, this time I focused on the gold, black and metallic options..

Party dresses under twenty

Zig Zag Sequin Dress £19.99 Available from Quiz for Debenhams
This is such a statement piece, heads will turn! A fabulous price for a sequin dress, and it looks good quality too.

Black Gem Fit and Flare Dress £20 Available from Dorothy Perkins
I love the detail on this dress, and the loose skirt is perfect for flattering curves and fitting in extra trifle 😉

Taupe Pleated Dress £20 Available from Dorothy Perkins
This almost fell into my basket, but I don’t think I’m tall enough, or slender enough,  to pull it off. I believe it is so unusual, it makes me think of the Downton Abbey daughters !

Black Beaded Shift Dress £17 from Atelier 61 for Debenhams.
This time the detail is all in the skirt, with the beads giving a flattering pleated impression. The style cinches the waist too – a must for defining the silhouette

Under £30

For the thirties I’ve searched for patterned designs. These are so simple to wear, if you have the nerve, and can be worn unadorned as the prints speak for themselves!

Party Dresses under thirty pounds

Red and Black Marcella Dress £24.99 Available from Quiz at Debenhams
This baroque style pattern is simple stunning! Its perfect for larger figures as all eyes will be drawn to the print whilst the adjoining dark panels will flatter any lumps and bumps.

Grey and White Print Dress £20 Available from Wallis for Debenhams
A very brave pattern and unusual colour combination, this gorgeous dress needs no more accessories then plain heels, black clutch and big earrings.

Black and Velvet Glitter Print Dress £29.99 Available from Quiz
Yes, you read that correctly! Velvet and Glitter in the same dress? Count me in!! The striking  pattern makes up for the dull colours and those sneaky side panels have been used again to flatter your figure.

Moodywood BodyCon Dress £25 Available from Topshop
Another unusual choice for a christmas party, but I have unusual taste and I love love LOVE this print. Topshop have labelled this as casual but I think it’s much dressier then that!

Under £50

Interestingly, when browsing my favourite sites I found that nearly all the dresses at this price point contain sequins, sequins and more sequins, let me show you…Party dresses under fifty pounds

See what I mean?!

Black Sequin Dress £50 Available from Wallis
Wallis have adapted the LBSD (little black sequin dress) for us girls who are conscious about our arms, by adding subtle sheer cap sleeves. These don’t ruin the glamour of the dress but do provide that little bit of reassurance, perfect for performing the YMCA at 3am…

Spearmint Dress £46.40 Available from Motel for Topshop
This beautiful A-line dress has a nipped in waist (practically a tummy tuck) and showcases one of the most striking shades of green I’ve seen in a while! A head turner!

Sequin Side Split Maxi Dress £59.99 Available from NewLook
Okay, okay I cheated a little, this dress is a smidge over £50…BUT LOOK AT IT! I’d feel so glamorous in this, imagine making your entrance down a full flight of stairs….I’m picturing Anne Hathaway in The Princess Diaries here… This is one for the more glamorous parties!

Tribal Sequin Sleeveless Dress £50 Available from Biba at House of Fraser.
Its worth noting that this dress was originally £169, so it is now an absolute bargain that WILL sell out quickly. Another statement piece, this would look amazing accompanied by high heels, sleek hair and a glass of champagne!

What do you think of my choices, and what are you wearing for the celebrations this year?
Let me know by leaving a comment below!

xx

PS: All images borrowed from the relevant websites, edited by me.

Author:

Digital Copywriter. Background in visual communications, brand management, visual merchandising and retail management.

2 thoughts on “Perfect party dresses for under fifty pounds (Almost!)

What do you think?

