Posted in Books

Take a look at me now

Advance warning: Even if you have never planned to travel to America before, after reading this book you will want to book flights for tomorrow. Miranda Dickinson brings San Francisco to life; I live over 5,265 miles away (thanks google) yet reading this book makes me feel like I know the distant city as intimately as my neighbouring town…

Miranda Dickinson

“What a difference a day makes…

Nell Sullivan has always been known as ‘Miss Five-Year Plan’. But when she finds herself jobless and newly single on the same day, Nell decides it is time to stop planning and start taking chances.

Nell blows her redundancy cheque on a trip of lifetime to a place where anything is possible – San Francisco. There she meets a host of colourful characters, including the intriguing and gorgeous Max. Very soon the city begins to feel like Nell’s second home.

But when it’s time to return to London, will she leave the ‘new Nell’ behind? And can the magic of San Francisco continue to sparkle thousands of miles away?”

Dickinson begins her intriguing tale with Nell’s financial, and therefore emotional, redundancy.  This forms the catalyst for her sudden expedition to San Francisco where her story weaves between resilience and reflection. It becomes a rollercoaster of an adventure, peppered with both romance and remorse.

The book is not a difficult read, and it is very, VERY predictable. In fact I would normally cast this style of writing aside halfway through, adding it to the ‘frothy chick-lit’ pile or  ‘bath material’ as it’s known in my house, comprising of books with little or no character development or plot. However, Dickinsons’ descriptive style of writing completely drew me in, I read half the book in one night! I became completely enamoured with San Francisco, emulating Dickinson’s enthusiasm by falling in love with the same aspects of the city as she did during her research visit there.

I’ve scanned a few reviews of this book and found most people have given it 5/5 stars, which astounds me. I think the book may be so over-rated purely because it is written by a well known author.. the curse of Cecelia Ahern strikes again. As I’ve stated in my review, it IS predictable; it is also whimsy, unbelievable and riddled with plot holes… Nevertheless; I’d still recommend this book both for prospective travellers, because of the beautifully descriptive writing style, or as a lazy summer holiday read for those who can’t travel but wish to be transported away, at least for the length of a book.

‘Take a look at me now’ is available online, in book stores and supermarkets. The cheapest paperback version that I have found is £3.50 from Asda with free delivery.

Let me know what you think by commenting below xx

Author:

Digital Copywriter. Background in visual communications, brand management, visual merchandising and retail management.

2 thoughts on “Take a look at me now

What do you think?

