Posted in Beauty, Fashion

Wet and Wild – Updated!

For someone who doesn’t go out very often, last week was crazy! I had an amazing girlie holiday in Liverpool fueled by Vodka, Champagne and Pink Sambuca, followed by my brothers 30th birthday where I was force-fed Jack Daniels and Jaeger…Needless to say I was feeling bit fragile by the weekend! Luckily my mum had the perfect cure… shopping!!

First stop was Boots for a quick make-up shop. I went in with the best of intentions, to just buy my foundation as it was running low.. however when I got there I found Revlon were offering this amazing deal:

Revlon_9094_294844

This deal was tailor-made for me, it’s like they knew I was coming! Not only did it include my favourite Colorburst™ lipsticks but I also needed a waterproof mascara and as the mascara I wanted was £9.99 (making the lippie just 1p)  this deal could not be ignored!
The ColorBurst™ lippies are “Buttery balm(s) with beautiful shiny colour to give you baby soft, healthy glowing lips

They are a bit of miracle really; transparent colour but still highly pigmented and so so soft and glossy. I have spent most of the colder months wearing the bright red ‘candy apple’ to brighten my pale skin and yesterday I purchased the shocking pink ‘raspberry pie’ shade.

The only waterproof mascara in the offer was ‘Lash Potion‘ which promises to  “Magically transform lashes to lush, long and lustrous. A potion with strengthening proteins drenches lashes for volume. Triple-groove wand combs through for clump-free length” Sounds good enough to me!

revlon2_edited-1

After purchasing my beauty bargains I headed to Outfit where both Miss Selfridge and Dorothy Perkins were offering a cool 20% student discount (usually 10%) I snapped up this beautiful soft Grey jersey tee with contrast chiffon panels from Miss S, and these perfect Eden jeggings in black from Dotty P’s which fit better then any other jeggings I’ve tried – I already have these in blue, grey and red *blush* Both items are £20, or £18 with a NUS card.

clothes

Not bad for a little pick-me-up shop!

Update! – Jan 2014

I wore the mascara to an aqua-zumba session (yes that is zumba in water, yes it IS hard and yes you do look silly!) and as you can see here it survived well! This is after an hours session and a thorough underwater dunking courtesy of my best friend who wanted to ‘help’! It hasn’t smudged or ran at all, and yet came off easily with eye-make remover, perfect waterproof mascara behaviour!

Waterproof mascara test

All images borrowed from manufacturers websites except my shameless swimming-pool selfie

Author:

Digital Copywriter. Background in visual communications, brand management, visual merchandising and retail management.

What do you think?

