Posted in Fashion

Bad Romance

Confession time: I don’t have a Valentine this year.

…I know, get the violins out – but, a girl can dream….

So when fellow blogger Jess asked me to talk about what I would be wearing on the 14th I decided I would create my ideal outfit instead, just incase anyone wishes to surprise me on the day… (Anyone wishing to apply needs to speak to my mum, not only does she have my address but she has to vet you first, naturally)

My dream date outfit:

I embrace any opportunity to dress up all fancy, so on the night in question I would definitely be wearing a pretty dress; accompanied by towering high heels that I could magically walk in.. an exquisite clutch bag with just enough room for my keys and lipstick (no purse, the date pays, the date always pays..) and a fab hair accessory to sit up a-top my curly mane – which for once would be sitting perfectly, quietly emulating those beautiful models whose hair I idolise at the hairdressers.

As this is my fantasy Valentines day, it only makes sense that I suddenly grow a foot, lose two stone, have smaller boobs and tone up every spare inch of flab overnight..right? Right. It also makes sense that my bank account swells, allowing me to browse Net A Porter without crying AND it makes sense that I can buy a beautiful floor length gown because – obviously – I will be taken somewhere suitable for such an outfit, rather then the local confetti strewn Nandos… With this in mind I chose this beautiful organza and tulle gown, part of the Notte by Marchesa collection. Not only is it absolutely divine, it comes in at a mere £960!  Absolute bargain! *cough*

dress

Net – a porter’s description:

“Notte by Marchesa’s sleeveless gown is a show-stopping pick for your next special occasion. This luxe design is layered with frothy georgette and tulle – the inner bodice and skirt closely skim your figure, while the sheer pleated overlay adds volume and movement. Play up the intricate gold embroidery with metallic accents.”

I will do this Net a Porter! I will play up the sewing with posh metallic things! I will forget that I can’t walk in heels higher then an inch and that any sensible city living girl stays well away from suede shoes (puddles) and instead opt for these amazing Charlotte Olympia sandals, also from Net-A-Porter, a snip at just £695!

shoes

“Charlotte Olympia’s suede platform sandals are designed to resemble the brand’s signature spider web motif. Sheer mesh inserts add structure and support to this cage style. Wear them to add off-beat edge to sleek leather leggings or a ladylike dress.”

See, they say ‘[wear with] a ladylike dress’ just as I thought! I should work there really…
Now on to the all important clutch bag!

With my magical Valentine’s day budget I’m going to treat myself to my first Diane Von Furstenberg item, a perfect black leather clutch bag – just £230 from Selfridges, cheap enough to buy two, so thats Mum’s birthday sorted!

bag

“One of Diane von Furstenberg’s most popular styles, this small Lytton clutch in quilted leather is effortlessly chic. Detailed on both sides, this piece is finished with the brand’s signature twig clasp and an optional chain strap”

See it comes with a ‘optional chain strap’, thats good, else I’d consider it over priced….

..and finally, the pièce de résistance: a hair piece! Now remember my hair is currently in a perfectly formed waterfall of curls following down my back and will remain miraculously frizz free throughout the night – okay? okay. So I will finish up my outfit with this beautiful Octavia Halo gold-plated Swarovski crystal headband!

hair piece

“Jennifer Behr’s sparkling gold-plated headband is perfect for a wedding or special event. This handmade style features intricate Swarovski crystals and looks equally polished with hair worn up or down.”

So there we go mystery Valentine of mine, I am now polished, preened and perfected all ready for a special event! You call the coach and horses, I’ll grab my keys…

valcoll2

Author:

Digital Copywriter. Background in visual communications, brand management, visual merchandising and retail management.

3 thoughts on “Bad Romance

What do you think?

