Posted in Books

The Little Book Of Big Wisdom

This cute little packet contains a gorgeous red book full of inspirational quotes. It was gifted to me by Kim after she read my blog, possibly due to my most popular post so far – the New Years Inspiration post about beating the bullies. You, my readers, made that post so popular so this present is not only for me but for you too!

DSC_3315

“Debbie is a former emergency room nurse, an army wife and mum of three. A shocking moment eight years ago, saving her 17-year-old son’s life after a suicide attempt, made her re-evaluate her priorities. Debbie vowed to start living for what’s important – changing herself, her career and her family life for the better.

She is now a high-impact, high-energy speaker with a mission to help individuals and companies use BIG Wisdom to transform themselves, and their business. Her unique blend of charisma, humour and tough love gives her the uncanny ability to connect with people at all levels, with an empathy that compels them to make real-life changes.

Debbie Huxton’s ‘Little Book of Big Wisdom’ is a collection of her own quotes that she uses in her presentations, in coaching and on her motivational twitter feed. They are designed to span audiences of all ages, backgrounds and circumstances, giving people a little food for though in Debbie’s unique, straight-talking way.”

Here are some of my favourite quotes from this pocket book:

“Surround yourself with people who lift you up, not those that put you down”

This is an idea I’ve really taken to heart over the last few months. For years I made friends with unsuitable people, simple because I was amazed that anyone wanted to talk to me in the first place. I would happily change things about myself to make them like me – including accepting their destructive or negative behaviours.

It’s only recently when a true friend asked me why I spent time with negative people, when it always badly affected my own mood, that I realised I owe it to myself to make good friends, rather than have many friends.

“There are no winners when playing the blame game”

I really needed to understand this about ten years ago when I was 18 and in a high level management role. I’d constantly get in trouble for things other people had done, possibly because of my age or my naivety, and so I’d spend time trying to argue my case and prove that I was the one in the right. Unfortunately this approach just reaffirmed my colleagues belief that was a big kid, stomping my feet and whining, proving I was too young to have the job in the first place. I would have appeared so much more professional if I had just focused on ensuring the problem didn’t happen again.

“Stop letting the opinions of others control your decision making”

I am so so SO bad at this! Especially if I have a crush.. If I buy clothes I’m always asking myself if they’ll like them, or when choosing books to read I’ll wonder what they’d what choice would impress them most … even when I don’t have a crush I still question what everyone else I know would think of my decision before making it, and too often I’ve been swayed by their imagined reactions!

and finally – this one speaks for itself:

“Holding onto regret is costing you precious time. Lead your life, don’t be led by it”

I’d recommend everyone to purchase this book and keep it in their handbag for a portable pick me up, we all need a bit of cheering up during the day – and sometimes all it takes is a new way of looking at the things that are getting us down. The Little book of big wisdom is available here for £5.99.

What do you think?

Author:

Digital Copywriter. Background in visual communications, brand management, visual merchandising and retail management.

What do you think?

