Posted in Books

Wicked Wives

I was full prepared to not enjoy this book. The blurb had interested me but the quote on the front cover put me right off:

“Sexy, funny and 100% beach read fabulous”, followed by “[..]this glamorous tale is perfect for fans of Jackie Collins [..]”

Straight away I was worried this was going to be a full on bonk buster with no story line and bad writing.. I was very wrong!

“Casino owner and serial gambler Tom Black leaves a trail of broken hearts wherever he goes. So when he disappears, it’s no surprise that foul play is suspected.

Suspicion points to the three women from his past; Eleanor, the socialite with a sordid past, Loretta, the power-hungry gold-digger, and Victoria, the glamorous, heartbroken author.

But in the game of love there can only be one winner, and these women will stop at nothing to get what they want.”

wicked-wives-by-anna-lou-wratherley

Yes, it’s frivolous, but it is really well written! Anna-Lou weatherley’s book gives access to that magical world of wealth, where wives cure their blues by shopping for dresses I could only dream of, whilst the men charter private jets around the world, no-one sleeps on sheets with fewer then 300-count cotton sheets and everyone drinks, smokes and gambles. Although their world is so different to mine, I didn’t feel jealous at all. The insecurities, the lies, the secrets and the stress of ‘beating’ the other wives?  Exuding glamour at all times, ensuring regular appearances in high society magazines and basically doing everything and anything to be the envy of the other wives? It sounds exhausting!

Weatherley’s writing style is very funny, full of witty observations and one-liners that make you laugh out loud.
Natalie at ‘The Book Geek Wears Pajamas sums it up perfectly here:

“This book has a slap in your face opening prologue that continues slapping throughout every chapter. It’s not even funny how much eye opening drama there is. It’s like, Slap-murder. Slap-secrets. Slap-botched up cosmetic surgery. Slap-scandal. Slap- baby-loss. Slap-drugged orgies.”

Things to watch out for:

  • Heart attacks – these happen a lot in this book, it seems the main way for rich old men to die.
  • The ending – I was so, so, so disappointed with the epilogue for this book, it seemed to go against the mind-set of the ‘Eleanor’ character which Weatherley had carefully created throughout the book. I’d love to hear other opinions on this!

Overall I would certainly recommend this book; it’s naughty, it’s funny and it’s so glamorous it should only be published in hardback with an embossed cover!

Buy it here for £3.45 or £1.99 for the kindle edition
Catch up with the author on twitter 

 

Advertisements

Author:

Digital Copywriter. Background in visual communications, brand management, visual merchandising and retail management.

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s