Posted in Books

The French for Always

Five weddings. The perfect venue. One little hitch…

Leaving the grey skies of home behind to transform a crumbling French Château into a boutique wedding venue is a huge leap of faith for Sara. She and fiancé Gavin sink their life savings into the beautiful Château Bellevue – set under blue skies and surrounded by vineyards in the heart of Bordeaux.

After months of hard work, the dream starts to become a reality – until Gavin walks out halfway through their first season. Overnight, Sara is left very much alone with the prospect of losing everything.

With her own heart breaking, Sara has five weddings before the end of the season to turn the business around and rescue her dreams. With the help of the locals and a little courage can she save Château Bellevue before the summer is over?  

The-French-For-Always-front-cover-800px

 

Fiona Valpy writes a light romantic tale which follows a summer of weddings events at France’s newest wedding venue, Château Bellevue de Coulliac. Each chapter follows a new wedding, one every weekend,  building the characters of the books heroine Sara and her gutsy staff. Together they deal with crazy events, including a stroppy mother of the bride, a missing dog, an elderly marriage,  a bride getting a black eye the night before she’s due to walk the aisle, a gay wedding and the small matter of discovering Sara’s husband in a comprising position with the maid of honor! 

Sara’s combined home and business provides the perfect romantic setting, but is it just for the betrothed guests or can her own love life benefit from a bit of French romance?

The story is a little predictable in parts, but well written with well-developed characters. Before you get halfway through the tale you’ll be pushing for Sara and her business to do well; showing her cheating husband she can do without him. This is a modern tale of girl power! Enjoyable escapism, this book will loved by readers of Katie Fforde, Carol Matthews or Erica James.

About Fiona Valpy...
About Fiona Valpy…

About Fiona Valpy

Fiona Valpy lives in France, having moved there from the UK in 2007. She left behind a  career in Marketing and Public Relations to explore new avenues and now teaches yoga and writes.

Having renovated an old rambling farmhouse with her husband, she has developed new-found skills in cement- mixing and interior decorating, although her preferred pastime by far is wine-tasting.

Praise for The French for Love

Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Carole Matthews or Erica James – and everyone who enjoyed Nick Alexander’s The French House.

  • ‘Overall, this book is so much fun and will definitely leave you feeling warm and fuzzy inside. I highly recommend it.’ 4.5/5 ChickLitPlus.com

  • ‘I thought the book was a fun, enjoyable read in a beautiful setting.’ Novelicious.com

  • You should just take my word and dive into this book. It’s a perfect summer read that will transport you away from the doldrums commuting or the usual rat race and have you longing to move to France and find a ramshackle house of your own.’ 5/5 Kimtalksbooks.com

  • ‘I would definitely recommend this book as a summer read to anyone… A little bit of romance, a nice glass of wine and a wonderful summer setting.’ Fabulous Book Fiend

Discover more about the author on her Facebook page.

Advertisements

Author:

Digital Copywriter. Background in visual communications, brand management, visual merchandising and retail management.

One thought on “The French for Always

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s