Posted in Mishaps

Getting to know me…

Presenting the blogger ‘get to know me’ tag!

This tag was created by Laura over at She Loves To Read and I was tagged in it by the lovely Jo over at The Love of a Good Book. Read on to learn all about me…

Patch the cat getting to know me..

Tell us five random facts about yourself:

Number One: I am fiercely supportive of gay rights. I will argue for hours and hours with anyone who has anything to say about how human beings aren’t all the same and don’t deserve to be treated with the same respect. I love people, not genders, and I’m proud of that.

Number Two: I am a mature student. When people ask me what I do and I say I’m at college they immediately believe I’m 19-21, I wish. I’m 28 this summer and I start university in September. Yes, I’m doing things a bit backwards.. I left school too early, started on the management career ladder of a big british company at 17 and climbed almost to the top by 20.  However I wasn’t strong enough and by 22 I had burnt out completely. Follow a few years of medical help and odd jobs and I finally decided at 26 to get my life together and start improving my cv – mainly by achieving a degree. My lack of A-levels meant I had to attend college first to complete a Higher National Diploma. I start a uni course in Media Production in September, going in at year two.. and I’m terrified – but excited too! I’ll graduate at 30, which may be about nine years after my friends but it’s the right time for me.

Number Three: I have a tattoo sleeve. It is a beautiful tree, surrounded by birds and blossom. It means a lot of things to me which I won’t go into in public, but you can know part of the meaning is around growth, strength and reaching for the sun. I got inked just before starting college, i.e. just before starting my new life.

tattoo
Number Four: I asked people to help me think of five interesting things about me and my tutor pointed out the fact that I don’t sleep… I get by on about 3-4 hours restless most nights. I say get by, I’m permanently exhausted and get through a lot of makeup! The main reason for this is I can’t sleep in the dark *blush* since my crash and burn episode I find the dark a frightening place. I’d rather sleep in the day but this is nearly always impractical, so I don’t usually drift off until the sky starts to lighten at dawn.

Number Five: I have damaged stomach muscles which means I can burp louder than anyone I know. This is disgusting but amazing at the same time.

When is your birthday?
My birthday is in July, I’m a summer baby!

What is your favourite colour?
I love the colour pink, even when I went through an emo-goth-chick-who-only-wore-black phase at 14 I still snuck bits of pink jewellery in, and I listened to the Spice Girls… I wasn’t a very good goth. After pink I love the colour Teal 🙂

1046

What is your favourite memory?
Perhaps interesting fact number 6 should be that I have a very limited short-term memory, I can remember primary school as clear as day but ask me what I did yesterday and I’ll struggle to tell you. For my favorite memory I’ll pick the good parts of my last relationship. I felt accepted, wanted and treasured – and although the relationship wasn’t meant to be, for the moment it meant the world to me.

Describe a day in your life……
A typical Friday for me:

  • Go to sleep around 3am, alarm goes off at 7 for college.
  • Take pills to get through the day, have shower and breakfast.
  • Stand in front of my wardrobe trying to decide what to wear.
  • Forget wardrobe and do hair and makeup.
  • Return to wardrobe, stare some more.
  • Ensure bag is packed and bus pass is located.
  • Look at wardrobe.
  • Go on twitter/facebook and check blog mail.
  • Wait till five mins before the bus is due
  • Finally grab an outfit out of the wardrobe.
  • Somehow make it to college, usually badly dressed, go into a coma until break at half 10, this is when I start to wake up!
  • Once I’m home I usually do coursework or blog posts, and shop online trying to put better things in the wardrobe!
  • About elevenish I take different pills, these ones get me through the night.
  • Then I read, and read, and read until I finally fall asleep at about 3am.

Name five of your favourite songs…
This changes all the time for me because of the memory thing, so here’s the top five I can think of:

  1. Part of Me – Katy Perry
  2. Brave – Sara Bareilles
  3. Demons – Imagine Dragons
  4. Chandelier – Sia
  5.  F**king Perfect by Pink.

If you could only eat one thing for the rest of your life, what would it be?
It depends, if I didn’t gain any weight from it could I please live on Chocolate?!!

What is something you really dislike?
Animal sports – such as hunting, racing etc. It’s intolerably cruel and the animals have no real voice.

Summer or winter?
Autumn! It’s still warm, sometimes even warmer if we have a late summer, yet the leaves are changing and the colours of nature are incredible to behold.

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you live and why?
San Francisco. I’ve never been, I’ve never even left Europe, but I have a feeling I would love it there. Partly because of ‘The Princess Diaries’, partly because of ‘Take a look at me now’ . The city sounds captivating, incredibly beautiful and so full of life.

san_francisco_city_by_tt83x-d5seu41

Name five of your favourite films?

  1. Sense and Sensibility
  2. Harry Potter 1-8
  3. Beauty and the Beast
  4. Lord of the rings/The Hobbit Trilogies
  5. All other Disney films.

If you won the lottery what would you buy?
After sorting out the family and ensuring they have homes and good quality of life I would get me and mum to America as we both are desperate to visit. For my self confidence I’d get a boob reduction, laser eye surgery, a stylist and a personal trainer. I’d buy a house and a chauffeur (I can’t drive for medical reasons) . I’d take my best friends on a luxury holiday and generally try to find ways to make the people I love have happier lives.

Favourite day of the week…
Sunday, its calm and quiet there’s plenty of opportunity to sleep in the daylight!

puppy

What three things would you take to a desert island?
A plane, a pilot and suntan lotion

Sweet or savoury?
I’m currently dieting so savoury – especially salted popcorn

Early bird or a night owl?
A night owl of course – see above!

Name five of your favourite books:

  1. Harry Potter (1-7)
  2. The Golden Compass Trilogy
  3. Iris and Ruby
  4. The Hunger Games Trilogy
  5. Little Women

1347870889Favourite Drink?
Amaretto and anything

Favourite animal?
I love all animals, but especially dogs, I love how loyal they are and how soulful too.

dogsbestfriend

That’s it! I tag:

  1. Em at Any Girl Friday – Feminism and sex
  2. Holly at i2style – Fashion and Styling
  3. Jodi at Mama Bare – The honest truth about parenting
  4. Ann at Annii’s Antics – A lifestyle blog
  5. Dave at Dave Lackie – Beauty Editor
Author:

Digital Copywriter. Background in visual communications, brand management, visual merchandising and retail management.

What do you think?

