Posted in Books

The second time I saw you

It’s the beginning of a new term at Wyckham College, Oxford, and a fresh start for Lauren Cusack. Her fingers were badly burnt when a whirlwind romance with gorgeous English aristocrat, Alexander Hunt, became too hot to handle – and now she’s determined to keep her distance.

Her resolve is shaken when Alexander appears on her doorstep – he’s been completely torn apart by some devastating news. Lauren knows that she should stay away, but their chemistry is undeniable and she soon finds herself back in Alexander’s arms.

Can Lauren handle the drama that comes with Alexander Hunt? Or will she have to sacrifice the most exhilarating passion she’s ever known . . .

The Second Time I saw you is the 2nd book in the Oxford Blue Series.

Second time I saw you

I haven’t read the first book in the Oxford blue series but I was assured that this would not mean I wouldn’t enjoy, or understand, ‘The second time I saw you’. From what I can work out from the original blurb, the first book ‘The first time we met‘ introduces the two main characters mentioned above – Lauren and Alex – and follows their first stab at romance during term one at Wyckham College.  ‘The second time I saw you‘ follows the drama over the second term, and I’m safely assuming that the third book follows the third term.

Although only 226 pages, I found this story dragged on a bit. I’d have preferred one solid novel containing the entire story, especially as this second book ends on a cliff hanger that just annoyed me as a reader rather than enticing me to read the last installment. The annoyance was because I felt that I’d ploughed through multiple mediocre chapters, albeit interspersed with better ones, just to get to an inconclusive ending.

There are some great characters in this book with strong story lines, yet when placed together the whole tale had a soap-opera-esque feel to it. However, I am sure a lot of readers out there crave this style of dramatic sensualist writing, and the copious (this girl never had a period, or a headache) sex scenes are definitely written for a Mills and Boon audience! If you are a fan of the first book then the second won’t disappoint, assuming that they are similar in style. However if you like strong female characters and a meaty storyline then this perhaps isn’t the tale for you.

Authorphotos- Pippa Croft

Pippa Croft is the pen name of an award-winning romantic novelist. After studying English at Oxford, she worked as a copywriter and journalist before writing her debut novel, which won the RNA’s New Writers’ award and was later made into a TV movie. She lives in a village in the heart of England with her husband and daughter.

Discover Croft on TwitterFacebook and Goodreads

Pippa Croft Series

Author:

Digital Copywriter. Background in visual communications, brand management, visual merchandising and retail management.

What do you think?

